
Yesterday, Netflix began rolling out a new feature which has the potential to change certain awkward situations with ex-partners and roommates forever. As reported by The Verge, Profile Transfers are here, giving users the option to move their profile from someone elseâs account to their own.
Using Profile Transfer will allow users to keep all of their Netflix personalisations, including their recommendations and watch list, meaning that you wonât lose anything for breaking away from someone elseâs account. Apart from the monthly subscription fee, obviously.
Check out the trailer for The Midnight Club below - a new Netflix show which holds the world record for the amount of jump scares in a single TV episode.
Advert
âPeople move. Families grow. Relationships end. But throughout these life changes, your Netflix experience should stay the same,â Netflixâs product manager of product innovation, Timi Kosztin, wrote in a press release. âToday, weâre launching Profile Transfer, a feature that lets people using your account transfer a profile - keeping the [personalised] recommendations, viewing history, My List, saved games, and other settings - when they start their own membership.â
This isnât the first step that Netflix have taken this year to crack down on users sharing accounts. Although Profile Transfer has been introduced seemingly as a more gentle approach, earlier this year, the streaming giant began rolling out fees in some countries for âextra membersâ - AKA, users who share a Netflix account across multiple households. People who live outside of the main account household (in affected countries) now have to pay around $2.99 per month.
Next month, many countries will get access to Netflixâs new âBasic with adsâ subscription tier - a new, cheaper monthly subscription which, you guessed it, plays adverts before and during content. In the UK and US, this tier will become available on 3 November, and will cost ÂŁ4.99/$6.99 a month - ÂŁ2/$3 less than the existing Basic plan.Â
Topics:Â Netflix, TV And Film