
Typically, system updates introduce new features for us to play around with.
Very rarely do they take features away, but thatâs exactly whatâs happened for PlayStation 5 users.
You may have noticed a fresh system update installing on your console in recent days.
Advert
Well, following this, the most eagle-eyed among you will have spotted that this seemingly removed the âResume Activityâ option, and no oneâs particularly happy about that.
This option was available to access via the Activity Cards which basically aid you in, say, completing trophies or certain game areas.
Previously, the cards would show your completion rate in whatever particular activity they were reflecting, giving players the option to âresume activityâ where youâd jump into the game at the relevant point.
For example, if youâre playing Astro Bot and you have one level left in a particular galaxy, the card would allow you to hop straight into that game area to continue.
Horizon Zero Dawn Remastered launches very soon on 31 October. Take a look at the game in action below.
As handy as that feature sounds, itâs never been majorly popular which may explain why Sony removed it.
Cleaning up of the Activity Cards appears to be a key element of the latest update.
Now, the cards read âPlay Gameâ and will load up the game as normal.
For those who did use the removed feature, you can understand why theyâre wondering why PlayStation would pull such a nonsensical move.
âI don't understand for the life of me why you would just randomly remove a quality of life feature that was already there, there's just no good reason to do so,â wrote Reddit user DunnoMouse.
âLosing that feature feels like a step backward, especially when weâre in an era where seamless gaming experiences are highly valued. Itâs frustrating to see features that were initially promoted fade away, especially when they enhance usability,â added HuckleberryBrief3794.
âI was bummed when I noticed that they must have taken the feature out. It was such a good idea; it was SO nice skipping past all the splash screens and legit going from clicking the game icon to being full in the game world within eight seconds,â said TheNewTonyBennett.
The featureâs removal is likely linked to the fact that it has been bugging as of late, but itâs a shame to see it totally eliminated instead of fixed.
Perhaps one day, weâll see a revised edition return.
Topics:Â PlayStation, PlayStation 5, Sony